The Visible Invisibles

Avinash brings us a soulful poem, on being in a limbo, lost, but not quite. 

I’m neither here nor there
not sure when or where
in a queue am the person standing last
of an uncertain future and a blurry past
I have a label and no name
My desperation the claim to fame
no caste or creed we are all the same
head bowed tongues tied once wild now tame
the once wealthy are now homeless
the once believers are now godless
the once atheists are now fanatics
the once uneducated are well versed in ballistics
I could be from the land across the seas
or from the land across the border
I could be from the poorest country
or from the affluent sectors
i thought i mattered,
I thought It made sense
till I was stuck in a category
the lifeless without death’s ultimate mercy
Things could be better
things should be better
I am.not just a headline
I am not just a news update
I am not just a status
and surely not just a tweet
I could be a painter
I could be a scientist
I could be an engineer or even a doctor
or I could just reach my teenage
where I’d know what I wanted to be
I didnt want to be found slurping the saltiness of the ocean
the very ocean that now is filled with tears of my kin
I didn’t want to be found in an ambulance
where blood and gore is no more a sin
I didn’t want to leave my home to a place where I’m not wanted
I didn’t want to forget who I was in a place where I can never be me
I’m not angry with God, though he too is a reason
I’m not angry with Science, though it is no less a reason
I’m not angry with my parents who sent me away on a boat
I’m not angry with my children who were not taught to know better
I’m not angry with fate, for putting me through all this.
I’m just angry with man, for this is nothing but the greatest inhumanity by man
money drove some,
prospects drove some,
blood drove some
family drove some
love drove some
life drove some
security drove some
safety drove some
benevolence drove some
violence drove some
staying back wasn’t an option
destination isn’t one either
fear trumps love
fear trumps sense
fear trumps reason
fear trumps memory
fear trumps everything
but hope.
hope is powerful and cruel
but beggars can’t be choosers
and citizens of the limbo
can’t quite ask for more
we are just the absurdities
that resulted from atrocities
we are a history that wont be forgotten
we are a dark mark that can’t be unlived
but it is never late
and better late than never
no one else has to go through
what we went through
history might never be unlived
but definitely can avoid being relived…
till then,
i have to lurk in the dark
with no sunshine in sight
I am not a hero
neither wanted nor deserved
I am not the watchful protector of justice
but just the reminder of the opposite
more of a vociferous victim
than a silent guardian
who am I?
I just wish…
-Avinash

Leave a comment